Give Me Your Foot

 Image

I was all set to go for a trail ride early Saturday morning as I bounded out to the barn to get my faithful Paco booted and tacked up to go.  I had gathered all the necessary equipment, boots and saddle having them neatly ready to begin the preparation.  I retrieved Paco from his paddock, led him to the tie ring and immediately bent down with hoof pick in hand and boot next to his foot.  I asked him to pick up his foot in my usual way by gently squeezing his fetlock area, but he wouldn’t budge.  While bent over I told him “I’ll brush you after I get your boots on so let me pick up your foot” but he still didn’t budge.  I leaned into him as I continued to squeeze his fetlock, even bumped him with my elbow to get his attention, but he was not picking up that foot.  I stopped asking as it dawned on me, I hadn’t even taken the time to say hello, I didn’t even acknowledge him and in my haste I was treating him like a piece of exercise equipment that I could turn on and off.

I put my tools down and threw my arms around his neck apologizing for being such a brute.  I stroked his neck as I told him how much I loved him and he hugged me back by pressing me deeper into his chest with his chin.  He nuzzled me with his lips as I moved around him rubbing and scratching expressing my adoration.  Once we had connected in mutual affection I bent down once again to ask for his foot but it was all ready raised in offering to me.  Paco rubbed my back with his lips as I cleaned his hooves and donned each boot.

We had a spectacular enchanted ride in the forest as I stretched out my hands to the trees while my dear friend Paco carried me on his back with the reins lying upon his withers.  I acknowledge Paco and all horses as sentient beings who thrive when acknowledged, not so different from human beings.

Missy Wryn

www.MissyWryn.com 

About Gentle Horse Trainer Missy Wryn

Specializing in problem and dangerous horses Missy Wryn is an internationally recognized Gentle Horse Trainer and member of the Association of Professional Humane Educators. Missy's Training the Whole Horse® methods & techniques and the creation of her widely popular All-In-One Bitless Bridle have been featured in media such as Alaska Airlines Magazine, Equine Monthly, Natural Horse, NW Horse Source, Stable Management, The Horse Show with Rick Lamb, Horse Girl TV and more. For more information visit Missy Wryn’s website at MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689.
This entry was posted in Equine Support Center for Fibromyalgia, Horse, Horse Scoop, Paths to the Divine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give Me Your Foot

  1. tbnranch says:

    Just goes to show, kindness and appreciation goes a long way! 🙂

  2. Les Kiger says:

    What a pleasant story Missy! How easy it can be to get in a hurry and forget the niceties. My wife’s great-grandmother had a saying that I think sums it up nicely: “Problems start when people cease being polite.”

    I find it to be extremely humbling when I find myself being thoughtless and worrying more about what I’m doing that who I’m doing it with.

    Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

  3. judy spettel says:

    thanks for that story!! when I greet Cash, I usually surprise him and as he looks up(while in his stall), I say; HI!!!!!!!!! and, he gets so excited, we usually go outside, I like to brush and make over him and talk to him. I will remember what you did!!! thank you Missy!!!!! judy spettel,

Leave a Reply

