Dreams of Freedom

DREAMS OF FREEDOM

The sense of freedom we experience with horses runs deep in our nature.  In this post I touch on a basic need in human nature and the reflection horses provide as I respond to a question from a viewer:

Q. When I watched your iron free riding videos last night I realized that you were not asking for collection.  Collection is still part of Dream’s training regimen.  I’ve stopped my dressage lessons, but the trainer at the barn (who is not the dressage trainer) feels that she needs some collection to get her to her “happy place.”  We’re riding with much looser reins, but still asking for some collection.  HOWEVER, when I warm her up I often ride with a very loose or totally loose rein and I’ve started to realize that she is pretty relaxed when I do that.  Once I start asking for collection she starts to tense up.  On our trail rides I’ve been able to ride with a totally loose rein (on the buckle) which is a HUGE change from a couple of years ago, but we only walk on our trail rides.

Dream and I have had lots of challenges in our four years together and there have been times when I didn’t think we would make it.  I look at other people cantering their horses around and look at the things in the saddle that I have not been able to accomplish with her and I sometimes wonder if she needs a different owner – one with more skill than I have who could allow her to utilize more of her potential.  It is not an exaggeration to say that I have spent thousands of dollars with different trainers trying to find the key to riding her successfully.  Maybe it’s just me being selfish, but I have not been willing to part with her.  I am really interested in seeing how she responds to your approach to riding.  Debra, Dream’s owner.

A. Hi Debra, you are on a journey that does not have an end……….  Dream is part of your journey discovering your true nature, and what I am feeling is you are on the path to freedom without the need to control.  Notice how she behaves so much better on a loose rein and collection makes her tense.  It sounds like collection is contrary to your deepest nature FREEDOM!!  Does this sound familiar?

Our horses are our mirrors – she is helping you on your journey to experience freedom, fun, relaxing without control.  Setting her free brings her into alignment with your deepest desire, FREEDOM, which is the basis of our human nature.  Horses help us see and embrace our true desires and nature.  As you watch my trail riding videos with Paco I don’t even use the reins, clapping my hands, whooping it up knowing I can slow him down if I need to – no collection.  Paco and I developed this relationship over the years as I discovered setting him free brought him closer to me.  He listens to my body and feelings intently with his body and feelings.  If he senses I am losing balance he stops to catch me – this comes with freedom to respond without control.  If he stops because he sees or senses something that I don’t see or sense yet, I respect his feelings, his body alert and we check it out together.  It all started when I began to respect Paco’s communication with me, listening to him and he then listened to me. 

Dream is ready and so are you to take this step into freedom as you learn to trust her more deeply.  You have become a great rider and it only gets better especially when you have a deep connection as you do with Dream.  I had times with Paco thinking I wanted something else, but now I realize he is here supporting me on a mission of continual discovery of my greater nature and my ever progressing journey on this planet.  

“Hi Missy – your beautiful words sent me immediately into sobs.  This morning I was telling someone at the barn about you and the Zen barn and I couldn’t talk about it without crying.  Thank you for helping me see the role Dream is playing in my life.  We’re looking forward to visiting you at your Zen Barn soon”, Debra & Dream.

  

Let me know how I can be of support to you in any way.  Email me Missy@MissyWryn.com or call 888-406-7689

About Gentle Horse Trainer Missy Wryn

Specializing in problem and dangerous horses Missy Wryn is an internationally recognized Gentle Horse Trainer and member of the Association of Professional Humane Educators. Missy's Training the Whole Horse® methods & techniques and the creation of her widely popular All-In-One Bitless Bridle have been featured in media such as Alaska Airlines Magazine, Equine Monthly, Natural Horse, NW Horse Source, Stable Management, The Horse Show with Rick Lamb, Horse Girl TV and more. For more information visit Missy Wryn’s website at MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689.
This entry was posted in Horse, Horse Scoop, Horse Training, horse whisperer, HorseMAREship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreams of Freedom

  1. Love the work of horsemareship, excellent leadership

Leave a Reply

