Tell Me How You Really Feel – the Clinton Anderson Controversy Continues

I continue to receive messages from folks asking what I think about the statements Clinton Anderson made recently: “Now the women who are watching this, you know, I make fun of these tree-hugging idiots that ride in a bitless bridle, and you know, they trail ride, and and, they’re close to nature. They hear what I just said and they say “that’s barbaric”, they’ve never trained a stud horse in their friggin’ life. And I wish they would, cause they’d get killed and that would get rid of most of these people who bug the shit out of me. Okay? So they’ve never trained a stud horse in their life. They’ve never trained one. Their, their whole idea of accomplishment is the horse stands still at the mounting block. Like “oh my god, he stood still so I get three mounting blocks, one on top of the other and climb up with my fat ass up there and get on.” Clinton Anderson

I may not align with Clinton’s style, his character and opinions, but some of his techniques are useful when applied with gentleness and compassion…………… For some people they need to feel in control by using intimidation through force and pain, but then there’s YOU and me. We have discovered horses are willingly cooperative when given the opportunity to learn under gentle patience, guidance, and compassionate herd leadership!

The world is changing with a compassionate sensibility, and for some it is very uncomfortable since it does not align with their “old guard dominance” programming. Things are being said out of fear which often expresses itself in the likeness of anger, rage and arrogance. This expression from Clinton only resolves me to look beyond the man and embrace the source of his comments with compassion.  Missy

Let me know how I can be of support to you in any way.  Email me Info@MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689 visit www.MissyWryn.com

APHE-Proud-Member-logo-194x110-Color

About Gentle Horse Trainer Missy Wryn

Specializing in problem and dangerous horses Missy Wryn is an internationally recognized Gentle Horse Trainer and member of the Association of Professional Humane Educators. Missy's Training the Whole Horse® methods & techniques and the creation of her widely popular All-In-One Bitless Bridle have been featured in media such as Alaska Airlines Magazine, Equine Monthly, Natural Horse, NW Horse Source, Stable Management, The Horse Show with Rick Lamb, Horse Girl TV and more. For more information visit Missy Wryn’s website at MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689.
This entry was posted in Bitless Bridle Riding, Gentle Horse Training, Horse, horse games, Horse Rescue, Horse Sanctuary, Horse Scoop, Horse Training, horse whisperer, HorseMAREship, horses, Humane Horse Training, Natural Horsemanship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tell Me How You Really Feel – the Clinton Anderson Controversy Continues

  1. Hitting out at others can also sometimes be a way to get more attention to boost their own popularity when it dwindles when tree huggers, or people who have taken the time to learn the equus communication start to become a threat in their own view. If the tree huggers communications ways take over, where would his job be? The results Clinton gets are beyond doubt impressive, but I know what its like to be on the receiving end of aggressive and I cannot watch all of his public videos. There is dominance with communication and there is brute force, sadly I only see brute force with the initial training methods he has.
    Horses are amazing intelligent creatures they don’t need brute force to learn what we ask of them.
    I work along with dangerous horses too.

  2. Lee says:

    I think it breaks down to something quite simple, when it comes to how to interact with a horse, or whatever ” other” there is in a relationship. To truly step back, take a deep breath, and look at a situation/relationship, and act from a place of ” DO UNTO OTHERS… As you would have OTHERS do to YOU.. which is an old and simple teaching, whose truth remains to this very moment, and speaks to the core of the issue.

    To step back and take a moment to ask oneself: : ” How would ” I “react to anyone, or anything, interacting with me, as i am doing, or about to do, to you, to get a desired result ” … might allow some light and clarity to enter the situation, that would prove beneficial to all concerned, overall.

    Many years ago, when i was an R.N., I used to always think of any patient I interacted with, in that way. I would almost always say to myself….” what if that were my mother in that bed, or myself?
    It always allowed me, to interact with the patient in ways that produced unusual and far reaching “positiive” results for “both” of us.

    Namaste ~

  3. Kelly Westover says:

    “This expression from Clinton only resolves me to look beyond the man and embrace the source of his comments with compassion. ” …….I’ve always admired you and have been inspired by you, Missy, but this comment of yours brings you up quite a few more notches in my opinion of you. Mad respect. .

    • Lee says:

      Obviously has no time, or possibly the aptitude, for education and self improvement Had he ever taken a moment to read or watch anything done by Alexander Nevzorov, or Ferdinand Hempfling, or MIssy Wryn, he could have evolve from caveman status, as he might feel humbled about his approach with horses, and possibly even people. The Ego doesn’t like the word ‘humbled’, though, and those people who come from a place of fear, are so very busy building a defense system, they don’t have the sensitivity to ” be’ in the moment and see the truth.

Leave a Reply

