To Ride or Play or What About Dancing?

Dancing with Benny

I just play a lot and dance with my horses. I love it when they kick up, spin around and run – I laugh my ass off and clap my hands in joy as we play.

One day a boarder was out running her horse around the arena at-liberty which I noticed she was all serious with no smile or joy in her countenance.  I clapped my hands and “woo hooed” as her mare kicked up and really cut loose sensing her horse’s joy. The boarder however continued running her mare around the arena trying to get her to join with her, but the mare didn’t want anything to do with her.  So, I gently stopped the gal and suggested she have fun with her horse.  I pointed out how I clapped and woo hooed and laughed recognizing the joy in her horse.

To my relief the boarder received my suggestion graciously and realized she was projecting a negative, forceful countenance that was not conducive to a friendly relationship.  She immediately changed her countenance to a more joyful energy towards her horse and suddenly the mare dropped her head, walked up and buried her nose in the woman’s chest.  The woman looked at me jaw dropped with tears in her eyes as I said “she just wants to be loved and have fun, not having you mad at her making her work work work”.  It was an amazing ah ha for the woman.

If I could teach one thing, it would be to “have fun, stop trying to make a trophy out of your horse and draw out the pet that was the initial motivator in buying a horse in the first place” right?

Wishing you great joy with your horse(s).  For more information visit www.MissyWryn.com or contact Info@MissyWryn.com (888) 406-7689

About Gentle Horse Trainer Missy Wryn

Specializing in problem and dangerous horses Missy Wryn is an internationally recognized Gentle Horse Trainer and member of the Association of Professional Humane Educators. Missy's Training the Whole Horse® methods & techniques and the creation of her widely popular All-In-One Bitless Bridle have been featured in media such as Alaska Airlines Magazine, Equine Monthly, Natural Horse, NW Horse Source, Stable Management, The Horse Show with Rick Lamb, Horse Girl TV and more. For more information visit Missy Wryn’s website at MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689.
This entry was posted in Bitless Bridle Riding, Gentle Horse Training, Horse, horse games, Horse Rescue, Horse Sanctuary, Horse Scoop, Horse Training, horse whisperer, HorseMAREship, horses, Humane Horse Training, Natural Horsemanship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

