I Couldn’t Believe What Happened Next

I was raised a crank and spanker by the Dressage & Western Pleasure world, but after being disabled for 6 months from a fatal car accident I had to change my style of training to accommodate my chronic pain and fatigue.  I began with a slower gentle approach adding the discovery of how to invoke a horse’s natural instinct to recognize ME as their HERD LEADER, and what happened next blew my mind!

As I began developing methods that were easy on my body I noticed the horses I was working with accelerated in their learning while our communication and the horse’s understanding grew exponentially. No fear, no exhaustion, no chasing, no food, just using herd language which mimics a compassionate herd leader that easily invokes a horse’s natural instinct to recognize ME as their HERD LEADER.  The change in the horses was palpable as they became excited to be with me, watching one another during training, anxious for their turn – the results were astonishing!!

While revamping my training methods I discovered that 98% of the horses that came to me for training were actually IN PAIN! That pain was causing DANGEROUS behavior so it was imperative that I get to the SOURCE of the PAIN.  My motto is “Problems are NOT Always Training Issues”, which means problem and dangerous behavior typically has a SOURCE IN PAIN whether physical or emotional. And MOST of the time Emotional Pain is a BIG component for a horse that has Physical Pain because they probably have been ABUSED due to their behavior.  Many horses are recipients of incredible violence due to their dangerous behavior that simply could have been AVOIDED if someone had asked the question “WHY” at the first nip, kick or buck.

So why do we use violence, force, pain and devices to control a horse anyway? The answer is FEAR – fear is the driving force of our dominant culture. Fear is a natural instinct that I respect, but I DO NOT respect the use of violence to teach and that’s exactly what is going on in horsemanship from the earliest ages of our children in 4-H to Olympic level trainers and riders – this is a sad yet telling view of the horse industry.

There is good news however; people are rejecting the old paradigm of applied dominance and violence, embracing a gentler approach to understanding their horse’s behavior before arbitrarily applying discipline.  My revamped horse training methods take into account the source of behavior problems while invoking the horse’s natural instinct to recognize ME as their herd leader, along with 3 Foundations EVERY Horse MUST learn to be SAFER around people, 5 Fundamentals that Translate Under Saddle for a SAFER RIDE and Iron Free Riding which means no bits, no spurs.  I call it Training the Whole Horse®.

I had a 1 year waiting list to get into my barn once people discovered the magic of my program and now for your convenience the Introduction Course to Training the Whole Horse® is available for only $99.  Learn More

About Gentle Horse Trainer Missy Wryn

Specializing in problem and dangerous horses Missy Wryn is an internationally recognized Gentle Horse Trainer and member of the Association of Professional Humane Educators. Missy's Training the Whole Horse® methods & techniques and the creation of her widely popular All-In-One Bitless Bridle have been featured in media such as Alaska Airlines Magazine, Equine Monthly, Natural Horse, NW Horse Source, Stable Management, The Horse Show with Rick Lamb, Horse Girl TV and more. For more information visit Missy Wryn’s website at MissyWryn.com or call toll free (888) 406-7689.
This entry was posted in Benny the Autistic Horse, Bitless Bridle Riding, Gentle Horse Training, Horse, horse games, Horse Rescue, Horse Sanctuary, Horse Scoop, Horse Training, horse whisperer, HorseMAREship, horses, Humane Horse Training, Natural Horsemanship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

